The journey through the American life

Last Sunday I visited the exhibition; Joe Sternfeld Colar Photography since 1970 at Foam Museum and I was quite surprised. I must say that I had not much expectations because (I know it sounds bad); I had never heard of this pioneer of color photography. I mainly was interested because I had the impression that I was about to watch seventies and eighties pictures of the New York life. This was absolutely true but I was actually presently surprised of the way Sternfeld captures the American life in all it shapes and colors… and not just New York City.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Rush Hour, where New York was illustrated  quite interesting by capturing every day affairs with not so every days frames as outcome was the reason I visited the Foam museum like I just mentioned. The Rush Hour series met my expectations! You get a great sense of the stories of individuals of the Big Apple, told by one frame. This interesting way of framing where you get a peek in someone life continues in the large selection of  American Prospects, the result of his legendary journey through the United States. This times it even creates more interesting images because its inhabitants are framed again in their own world, but in unique situations who provoke you to create their story further in your head. It’s stays interesting…even after looking at it for a couple of minutes.

With a subtle feeling for irony and an exceptional feeling for color, Sternfeld shows an image of daily life in America over the last three decades. Great way to feed your curiosity and my love for wondering off into someone else’s world!

Leave a Reply

Explore Merely. Bags. The webpage of my company; Merely.Bags

See my favourite images at Pinterest. See what inspires and impresses me. Follow me at Pinterest.

Check out my experience at my Linkedin page.

ME
